Chapter 3: The Rheinfranks

While my parents are busy arguing about building a house, my life goes on. I think now, having a house might not be so bad. I would not have to stay there, after all. I am free to go where I please, and my parents are working most of the time, anyway. I would stay in my tent in summer and sleep in the house in winter, as we have done with the new shack we have build. It will take some time to get used to, but it’s not like a house will just appear in the woods just because my parents decided it. It will take time to build it, and I doubt that we will be done until next year.

The school year is almost over now. I rarely need to read school books because I seem to get everything on the fly, but there are some assignments that need to be done.

Since I still don’t have any stories on my mind to write in here, I will write about Saul Rheinfrank today. He is starting to get on my nerves a lot, more than he ever did, and he even convinced Oliver to steal my drawing book and throw it in a puddle. Oliver was sorry afterwards, but the damage was done. Sometimes I hate Saul, even if I know it is wrong to hate people, just because they are different.

Saul Rheinfrank is the richest kid in town. His family is swimming in money. They live in that huge mansion across the town. I probably should write about the Rheinfranks before I write about Saul, because you would not understand if I didn’t.

I wouldn’t know that much about the Rheinfranks if not for Eliza. She is part of Mother’s evening hangout, and she tells stories sometimes. I listen, sometimes even if the stories are not intended for children. I’m not sure what to think about Eliza. Sure, she is nice, but… some things are really weird with that family.

Let’s start with Albert Rheinfrank, the current head of the family. He is pretty old. I have seen him in town once. His hair is all grey and he walks with a limp. Nobody actually knows how he has managed to get so rich. He owns the newspaper, and the movie theatre, and probably other things as well.

His wife died before I was born, I think. Nobody ever talks of her. Albert comes off nice enough, but I think, half the town is secretly afraid of him. He has a thing with Eliza. That’s why Eliza gets to live at the Rheinfrank Mansion. She said that Nelson – that’s Alberts son and the heir to his empire – hired her to watch the kids years ago. Albert is old enough to be her grandfather, I think. Or close enough. It is a bit creepy. I don’t understand much of these things, but I know you are not supposed to be in a relationship with your grandchildren’s BABYSITTER. You can see them in town sometimes. I don’t get the Rheinfranks. Maybe Eliza is doing it because of the money. She must get an obscene amount of money for whatever she is doing.

ch3_5.jpg

So, Albert’s son, Nelson, is probably waiting until his father is dead because then everything would belong to him. That’s how I imagine it, anyway. I don’t know what he actually thinks. He is doing whatever his father is doing to get even more rich.

There was a picture of him in front of the mansion in the newspaper the other day. He looks all smug. Like: look at how rich I am.

ch3_6.jpg

His wife Kourtney is probably spending her entire day shopping clothing. Every time we went to town we have seen her in the shopping district. Surprisingly, she works at the Edelweiss Library. I don’t even know why she needs to work, but I guess she needs to take a break from being rich sometimes.

ch3_7.jpg

Saul, though… He’s been a pain in my ass since the first grade, and it’s not getting better. First, he just made fun of me. That’s okay, I guess. It is not a nice thing to do, but I’ve always known that my family is different and most people don’t like different. Most people don’t like things they don’t understand.

I don’t mind being called Forest Girl or Needlehair. I don’t mind the ocassional prank. But Saul is getting really, really vicious sometimes. He breaks my pencils. He steals my books and throws them into the trash. He spills ink on my desk and on my clothes. Don’t get me started on all the crap he’s making up about me. He gets real creative sometimes, though. I must respect him for that. He’s not stupid. He just has the wrong idea about everybody who isn’t as rich as his family. Which is basically everybody.

I still try to be polite. After all, money can’t buy everything, and sometimes I think he didn’t learn how to be happy.

ch3_8.jpg

 

4 comments on “Chapter 3: The Rheinfranks

  1. cathytea says:

    Do you think that he likes her? Or maybe he’s just unhappy?

    I’m really enjoying your legacy, and I love the way you write! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Whee, a comment! The Rheinfranks are generated by the game, with the exception of the old man, but I did him with genetics and did not change a thing about him except clothes. The red haired lady Eliza lives in the household and shares the last name with the family, but is not related in any way to them. I started exploring their background and that happened. I think they are not happy as a family. They are like, the most famous folks around and everybody is looking up to them, and they have to put on a show.
      And Saul grew up to think everything is about money. (well actually there are other reasons as well but I’m avoiding spoilers. I have things planned already :D)

      Liked by 1 person

      • cathytea says:

        That’s neat! I’ve had some families like that where they share the last name but aren’t related. My favorites are the Quintanillas who are all bros! Even one of the women is a bro! LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Allie Mac says:

    Love the back story for the Rheinfranks! Can’t wait to see what happens with Saul and Lily. Such a perceptive little girl. Great chapter once again. 🙂

    (sorry if this post multiples times – my internet is being wonky and I’m not sure if it went through or not.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

